The Graces25365584
Laure Eve
YA Fantasy/Paranormal

Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

This was an impulsive read. I saw Cait was reading it, and skipped all my normal selection processes to put on hold. I think it was worth it (However, I’ll still be sticking with my process).0d0fae4f1c8ccff2c0a03540d32a1deb

I liked the Graces, their interactions- I love books with siblings!- and the mystery surrounding them.tumblr_inline_nk1h0xlmif1t3p7i8

I didn’t like how obsessive River was about becoming friends with the Graces; I just found it a little sad.31360b3e-d18a-49a1-b218-da4000401c2f

River was kind of cool, I guess I think she’s either an INFJ or maybe an INFP, but I’m still new to typing characters. Like I said above, it made me sad how obsessed she was with the Graces. Summer was probably my favorite character (I liked her spunk). All I could think of when I read Thalia Grace was Percy Jackson (great series by the way) but she was pretty cool, too. Fenrin reminded me of Apollo, also from Percy Jackson.7b857441502094531da03c2e0342e491

  • The most violent this gets is someone breaking their leg and someone drowning
  • Someone is accused of rape and all the Graces (especially Fenrin) sleep around. A couple of characters are gay
  • This is another book I wouldn’t recommend if language bothers you
  • The kids are allowed to drink freely, and often do to the point of hangovers and memory gaps
  • This book is focused on how the Graces are thought to be witches, so witchcraft is a main theme and generally looked at positively

⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Similar Books

8490112

415 pgs.
Faber & Faber
Sept. 2016
The Graces #1

Goodreads link, Amazon link

Cait’s link

Percy Jackson series


7093346A French-British hybrid who grew up in Cornwall, a place saturated with myth and fantasy. Being a child of two cultures taught her everything she needed to know about trying to fit in at the same time as trying to stand out.

She speaks English and French and can hold a vague conversation, usually about food, in Greek.

A random selection of favourite things: Terry Pratchett quotes, characters with questionable morals, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Häagen-Dazs cookie dough ice cream, anything Trent Reznor is remotely involved in even if it only extends to ‘he once touched this artist’s arm’, bad 90s dance music and anything a bit weird (see: Davids Lynch and Cronenberg).


Sorry I’ve been gone so long, I should start posting again soon. Have you guys read this book? Are you going to finish the series? I’m still not sure. Tell me what you think!

