I know people normally do these lists in December, but I always think ‘what if I finish my new absolute favorite book on New Year’s Eve?’. So I’m doing mine in January. Click on the covers to see these on Goodreads and there is no specific order.

1. The Hunger Games2767052

I originally didn’t want to read this because a) It was really popular , and b) the whole people finding entertainment in making kids kill each other and I didn’t want to support that in any small way, but as I heard more about it, I realized the focus was on Katniss and she showed the games in a very negative light , I decided to give it a fair shot. I’m really glad I did try it, because now it is one of my favorites (Katniss is awesome).

2. The Demon King6342491

I must have read this 4+ times (not this year, but it’s still one of my favorites). It’s actually weird because, I really don’t like the vast majority of of raonce book s, but for some reason, I did like this.

 

3. Ruby Red8835379

This is another romance book that surprised me, I think it’s the time travel that really makes it . And the covers -not the newer ones with the girl, thought those are great too- are gorgeous!

4. The Selection
10507293

I haven’t read the rest of this series, but I really liked the first book. I didn’t completely love this when I was reading it, but it’s still in my head and that’s how I tell if the book is ‘favorites’ worthy.

My Review

5. A Study in Charlotte23272028

I just read this recently and was really excited about it, and it absolutely lived up to the hype. I love Sherlock Holmes stories, so I’m not surprised this made the list (for its flaws, see my review).

My Review (soon)

6. Terminal21973270

This is more the entire series than just this book, but it was a great finale (can’t wait to read the follow-up novella). This is a great example of how well realistic crime can be mixed with sci-fi/fantasy.

My Review

Honorable mentions
that for whatever reason didn’t make the list (e.g. I’ve read it a thousand times and seemed unfair to the others, etc.)


What were your favorites of 2016? Hate or love any of these books? Tell me below!

