Clockwork Angel7171637
Cassandra Clare
YA Fantasy

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

I’ve read The Mortal Instruments series and liked it (the second have got weird unfortunately) and I heard Tessa liked books and was an INTJ or INFJ (I’m going with INFJ), so I decided to try it, and I really liked it.12531491

I really enjoyed how the story took place in 1878 with the carriages, dresses, and all that stuff. What really made me love it though, was how the women -without being all ‘Girl Power!’ (I’ve always hated that phrase)- just said “yeah, right” to the opinion of girls being stupid and only being there to be pretty (Charlotte is awesome for this).giphy

Will felt almost too similar to Jace (it makes sense in TMI, but Clare certainly has a type). This is more about TMI, but since Clare came back and wrote the second half of TMI after this series, there were spoilers, but I don’t this it would have made as much sense if I read these first, so there’s a problem.

giphy1
(I wanted to use River, but their faces are great)

I loved Tessa! I loved how she was always quoting books and how she wasn’t afraid to scold the boys, but she wasn’t a take-charge kind of person. It was refreshing. I like both Will and Jem, and in real life I think I would get along with Jem, but always be fighting with Will. Charlotte, Henry, Sophie, Thomas, and Agatha were all good and enjoyable characters. I really don’t like people like Jessie, so I didn’t love her, but she was a good character too.tumblr_n3ksa7lyfb1tvn4tko3_250

  • They pretty much just fight robots, so there’s really not that much gore, but they do get into a fight with vampires and there’s a bit more of a mess, still nothing bad.
  • A character has a reputation for visiting brothels and has a few angry guys with grudges after him.
  • Will is really the only character who uses curse words, but they don’t actually say the really strong ones.
  • Tessa’s brother has a problem with gambling and being ‘intoxicated’. They go to bars.tumblr_li49tqkkwo1qe1xrv

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Similar Books

256683  6342491

499 pgs.
Simon & Schuster
Aug. 2010
The Infernal Devices #1

Goodreads link, Amazon link


150038“Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.”

Cassandra’s link

