Tell the Wind and Fire16221851
Sarah Rees Brennan
YA Retelling/Fantasy

In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own—one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised.

Lucie alone knows of the deadly connection the young men share, and even as the knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself?

I didn’t care for this. I read Sarah’s Lynburn Legacy series and liked it, so I wanted to try this, but I just didn’t like the characters.x1gz5

I liked how the characters weren’t all good or all bad, and they showed it.

I didn’t like Lucie, she felt like cardboard. I didn’t feel any emotion from her. One minute she was fine and talking, and the next she was screaming, yelling, and saying she was upset (saying, not showing), and I was completely lost. I also didn’t care for the writing style. I think the author was trying for mystery, but I just found it annoying.tumblr_inline_n03a6v608f1rc44n5

I already said I didn’t like Lucie, but I didn’t care much for Ethan either. They tried (somewhat) to show he had a dark side, but I didn’t really find it believable. I don’t like characters (with a few exceptions) that don’t show some darkness. I don’t trust golden characters or people. Because of this, I did like Carwyn more, but still didn’t love him. Nobody else felt very fleshed out.b1dede2df6aba50c7f029d5fd6d19c0e

  • It’s pretty dark with lots of horrible ways to die (nasty cages with spikes) and people getting ‘taken care of’
  • When Carwyn was trying to get under Lucie’s skin, he would often use sexual digs. The book starts with two unmarried, underaged characters on a romantic weekend alone. A character gives them the larger bed so the couple can share. Kissing is frequent.
  • Language wasn’t too bad
  • Some characters go to a party and are offered ‘dust’ and people drink at a ball-like party

⭐ ⭐

Similar Books

10866624  23299512

360 pgs.
Clarion Books
Apr. 2016

Goodreads link, Amazon link


836009Sarah Rees Brennan is Irish and currently lives in Dublin. For a short stint, she lived in New York and became involved with a wide circle of writers who encouraged and supported her, including Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. She has developed a wide audience through her popular blog, mistful.livejournal.com, where she writes movie parodies, book reviews and some stories.

Did you like this book? Do you agree there are enough Supernatural gifs to NEVER run out? Let me know!

