A Court of Mist and Fury17927395
Sarah J. Maas
NA Fantasy/Romance

Note: Notice this is New Adult.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

I read this right after Empire of Storms, so Sarah J. Maas galore! I really enjoyed the story, even more than the first book (it was great). It was a good welcome to the NA world (I’ve only read one other).

It was cool to see the Night Court in more detail and how everything was run. I loved the whole family atmosphere and banter. The interactions between the court members were my absolute favorite.

400px-bitchjerk
Please excuse the language

I very much disliked how detailed the bedroom scenes were, but at least I knew they were there going into it (unlike Empire of Storms). There were times where I had to go back and try to remember where they were going and why they were dressed up.6eaa5889826ecd8ade614a5a7562fb6a

I like Feyre. I felt like I understood her (I don’t at all claim to understand the trauma, that’s incredible) and how she felt caged. I love how she got that they were trying to protect her, but didn’t just give in. Rhys, Mor, and Nesta are my second favorites (I’m convinced Nesta’s an INTJ). Azriel, Cassian, Locien, Amren, and Elain all rocked.giphy

  • Similar to EoS, violence and torture exist in different degrees of graphicness.
  • Again similar to EoS and the first book, characters sleep together in quite a bit of detail. It didn’t bother me as much because characters were Mated (kind of like a more primal marriage), so they were acting like I imagine newly weds do.
  • Language. If this book was a movie, it would be rated PG-13 or R for language, especially in the bedroom scenes.
  • Drinking and (I’m pretty sure) drugs were mentioned.

I wouldn’t recommend anyone under 16 read this. Even then use caution and careful judgement.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Similar Books

28260587 15839984 5448911

640 pgs.
Bloombury
May 2016
A Court of Thorns and Roses #2

Goodreads link, Amazon link


Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Sarah’s link

 

