The Selection10507293
Kiera Cass
YA Fantasy

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

This book impressed me. I didn’t especially want to read it, but some friends of mine said I really needed to try it, and I’m glad they did. All I knew was it was about a girl going to compete with others to try to marry the prince-not something that appeals to me. But it wasn’t just that, and I might even add it to my favorites list.

I really liked America’s personality. How she was nice to everyone, but kept mostly to herself. Her family also (with temperament, but to a lesser amount) reminds me of mine. The whole Selection process was a pretty cool idea. A subject queen seems like it could be a good idea.Image result for i could be queen supernatural gif

There wasn’t much I didn’t like. However, Aspen and America’s relationship seemed a little sudden. I don’t doubt that it was real, but I wasn’t very emotionally invested.

I said it earlier, but America was really interesting. I also enjoyed Maxon a lot. He was so nice and almost innocent, but he did have flaws. Aspen was okay, I preferred Maxon, though. Marlee was an encouraging friend, so points to her.

Image result for april i just don't care parks and rec

 

  • There were rebel attacks and some hurt guards (nothing shown).
  • This is a romantic book, so obviously people kiss, and there is a law that people have to be virgins and it was discussed a few times.
  • I’m almost completely sure were only one or two curse words (they can’t have been that bad if they didn’t stick out).

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

(Those stars are hard to get!)


Similar Books

2767052   7735333

 

336 pgs.
HarperTeen
Apr. 2012
The Selection #1

Goodreads LinkAmazon Link


2987125I am a graduate of Radford University with a B.S. in History. I grew up in South Carolina and currently live in Christiansburg, Virginia with my electrical engineer hubby, car-obsessed son, and princess-loving daughter. I’m a #1 New York Times bestseller, woohoo! I’m also a valued customer at my local cupcake shop.

Things I hate:

When people fail to use turn signals, flying, salads.

Things I love:

Office supplies, boy bands, desserts.

Kiera’s Website


Do you know of any books similar to The Selection or have any thoughts about it? Tell me below!

 

